
The short answer: Morocco travel insurance for families with kids works differently from one plan to the next, so check three things before the price: whether children are included by age, how many free children each adult can bring, and what the plan pays when a child gets sick or hurt. With SafetyWing's Nomad Insurance Essential, up to two children under 10 are included at no extra cost, one per adult; a child of 10 or older pays like an adult. A medical plan of this kind pays for care and evacuation, not for a canceled trip.
How we put this together, and what we are not. On October 30, 2026, we read SafetyWing's Nomad Insurance page and its help center articles on children, group members, sign-up, trip interruption, prescriptions and exclusions, plus CDC and UK government health advice for Morocco. Every rule below carries its source and date; where SafetyWing does not say, we flag it. We have not bought a family plan or made a claim for a child. We are not insurance brokers or agents, nothing here is personal or medical advice, and the policy wording decides what gets paid.
Key takeaways
- With Nomad Insurance Essential, up to two children under 10 can be added to a family plan at no extra cost, limited to one child per adult, according to SafetyWing's help center in June 2026.
- Children must be at least 14 days old to join Nomad Insurance Essential, and they cannot hold a plan of their own: they go on an accompanying adult's plan.
- A child aged 10 or older falls into Nomad Insurance Essential's 10–39 age band, priced at $62.72 per 4 weeks on October 30, 2026.
- Nomad Insurance Essential does not reimburse a canceled trip, and its trip interruption benefit does not list a family member's hospital stay as a reason to fly home.
- Group members on a Nomad Insurance Essential plan cannot be added or removed after purchase, so every child has to be on the plan at sign-up.
Who is included, and who pays
SafetyWing's rule for Essential is short. A child older than 14 days and younger than 10 can be added at no extra cost, one child per parent, up to two children per family (help center, April and June 2026). Children cannot buy their own plan; they join the plan of an adult traveling with them, and that adult files any claim on their behalf.
Three consequences for parents:
- Age 10 is the line. SafetyWing's age selector starts its paid bands at 10–39, so a 10-, 12- or 15-year-old is a paying member at the same headline price as a 30-year-old.
- Count adults, not parents. The free allowance is one child per adult on the plan. Two adults bring up to two free children; one adult brings one.
- Everyone joins at sign-up. Travel companions from the same home country can be added when you buy. Once a group plan is purchased, nobody can be added or removed: you cancel and buy again.
Grandparents can be added up to age 69 at their own age-band price. Essential is not sold from age 70.
Three families, three bills
The examples apply SafetyWing's published rules, read October 30, 2026. Prices beyond the 10–39 band depend on each adult's age; get the live quote.
| Family | Who is included free | Who pays | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 adults + children aged 4 and 7 | Both children, one per adult | The 2 adults | Each adult's age band |
| 2 adults + a child aged 12 | Nobody | The 2 adults and the child, 10–39 band | The child's quote, at $62.72 per 4 weeks for that band |
| 1 parent + 2 children under 10 | One child | The parent, plus the second child | The second child's price: SafetyWing's help center does not state it, so get the live quote |
A family of two adults and three children under 10 is in the same position as the single parent: the third child is outside the free allowance, and SafetyWing's help center does not state the price.
What a plan pays when a child gets sick or hurt
Care for a new illness or injury that starts after cover begins is what a travel medical plan is designed for. Whether a specific treatment is paid depends on the policy wording; the open questions below are worth sending to SafetyWing in one email before you buy. Here is how that applies to the situations parents plan for.
Stomach bugs and dehydration. The CDC notes that children dehydrate faster than adults and that dehydration is the main concern when a young child has diarrhea or vomiting. A doctor's visit or rehydration for a new illness falls in the category the plan is designed for. Prescribed medicine is covered only when it treats an eligible illness, up to 60 days per prescription.
Fever. A new fever is a new illness; keep the clinic report and the pharmacy receipt for any claim.
Falls and small injuries. A cut that needs stitches, a sprain or a fracture is an injury. Emergency dental care is capped at $1,000, and dental pain relief needs 14 days of active cover first.
Heat. The CDC's Morocco page includes advice on avoiding heat stroke; shade at midday and regular drinks matter more for small children.
Animal scratches and bites. The CDC says rabid dogs are commonly found in Morocco and advises washing any bite or scratch and seeing a doctor right away. Vaccinations are excluded from Essential, so whether rabies post-exposure vaccination is paid is one of the questions to put to SafetyWing.
Evacuation
If a doctor certifies that a child needs a better-equipped hospital, Essential pays up to $100,000 over the insured person's lifetime. SafetyWing must approve and arrange the transfer in advance; a transfer you organize yourself is not reimbursed. The CDC notes that trauma care centers are uncommon outside urban areas, which matters on a desert or mountain day. Whether a parent's seat beside the child is included is not stated in the articles we read: add it to your questions for SafetyWing.
What stays out, even for a child
- Trip cancellation. Essential does not reimburse a canceled trip. If a child falls ill the week before departure, prepaid riads and tours are not refunded by this plan.
- Pre-existing conditions. Essential looks back 180 days. Its narrow emergency exception never applies to chronic or congenital conditions, so a child's ongoing asthma or a known allergy needs a close read of the wording before you buy.
- Routine care and vaccines. Checkups and vaccinations are excluded, including the shots you get before the trip.
- Lost medication. Replacing medicine that is lost, damaged or expired is excluded. Pack spares.
- A late claim. Claims filed more than 60 days after cover ends are not paid.
If a parent has to stay at the hospital
Plan for this one with money, not with the policy. The help center articles we read list no benefit for a parent's extra nights, meals or rebooked flights while a child is in hospital; if this matters to you, ask SafetyWing whether any such benefit exists and keep the written reply. Trip interruption pays up to $5,000 for a ticket home, but only after the death or imminent death of a close relative, or major damage to your home, and a family member's hospital stay is not on that list (help center, April 2026).
What to look for in a family policy
These criteria apply to any insurer. They are a method for reading a plan, not a ranking.
| Criterion | Why it matters with kids | What to check in the wording |
|---|---|---|
| Children's age limit | Decides who rides free | Maximum age, minimum age for babies |
| Free children per adult | Single parents and larger families | "Per adult" or "per family", the cap |
| Adding members later | A plan bought for two may need four | Whether members can be added after purchase |
| Medical limit | Covers the whole family or each person | Per person, per event, or per policy |
| Evacuation | Rural days, desert, mountains | Limit, pre-approval, a parent's seat |
| Pre-existing conditions | Asthma, allergies, ongoing treatment | Look-back period, chronic conditions |
| Accompanying parent | A parent stays at the bedside | Lodging, meals, extra travel |
| How bills are paid | You may pay the clinic first | Reimbursement, guarantee of payment |
Where to get care for a child in Morocco
UK government advice describes public health facilities in Morocco as providing limited care and private clinics as operating to a higher standard. Whether a given clinic treats children is something to confirm by phone, not to assume. The UK government publishes a list of medical providers in Morocco (last updated November 2020, so confirm any entry before relying on it). Your riad or hotel can usually point you to the nearest clinic or pharmacy.
- Ambulance
- 150 (gov.uk, read Oct 2026)
- Pharmacies
- Open 24 hours in every city and district (gov.uk, Oct 2026)
- Clinics
- Private clinics above public facilities in standard (gov.uk, Oct 2026)
- Outside the cities
- Trauma care centers uncommon (CDC, reviewed Aug 2026)
- Paying
- Expect to pay first, then claim (CDC Yellow Book; SafetyWing Help Center)
- Before a hospital stay or transfer
- Contact SafetyWing first (SafetyWing Help Center, Mar 2026)
- Last checked
- 2026-10-30
With Essential, you usually pay first and claim afterward. For a hospital admission outside the US, you can ask SafetyWing for a guarantee of payment; it decides case by case.
Nomad Insurance Essential for a family trip
Essential is SafetyWing's travel medical plan, open to US residents and to other travelers outside their home country. Read October 30, 2026 (plan version effective February 2026): a $250,000 medical limit, evacuation up to $100,000 lifetime with approval in advance, and $62.72 per 4 weeks for ages 10–39, with older bands costing more. It leaves out trip cancellation, pre-existing conditions and routine care.
It suits a family that wants emergency medical and evacuation cover and accepts paying a clinic first. It does not suit a family whose main worry is losing prepaid bookings, or a child under ongoing treatment for a known condition.
See what Nomad Insurance Essential covers for a family →
Before you buy, and before you fly
The CDC recommends hepatitis A vaccine from age 1, with a dose for infants 6 to 11 months, and an early measles dose for infants of the same age; your pediatrician decides what fits your child. The CDC also advises bringing medicine from the US.

Family cover for Morocco
0 / 12 doneFAQ
Are children covered for free on travel insurance for Morocco?
It depends on the insurer. With Nomad Insurance Essential, up to two children under 10 are added at no extra cost, one per adult, as of October 2026.
What age does a child pay for travel medical insurance?
With Essential, from age 10, when the child moves into the 10–39 price band.
Can a baby be insured for a trip to Morocco?
With Essential, from 14 days old, on a parent's plan.
Does family travel insurance cover a child who gets sick before we leave?
Not with a medical-only plan. Essential does not reimburse a canceled trip; that takes a separate cancellation policy.
Can I add my child after I have bought the plan?
Not with Essential. Members cannot be added after purchase; you cancel and buy a new plan that includes everyone.
Disclosure: We are not licensed insurance agents: this article is general information, not insurance, legal or medical advice.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we write about a plan.


