
The short answer: travel medical insurance for Morocco pays for emergency care, a hospital stay and, when a doctor says you need it, a medical evacuation. It does not pay you back if you cancel the trip before you leave: that is a different product. For one to three weeks in Morocco, compare four lines before the price: the medical limit, the evacuation limit, the exclusions that touch your plans, and how the insurer pays a clinic.
How we put this together, and what we are not. We read CDC and UK government health advice and SafetyWing's wording on October 30, 2026, and three other insurers' plan pages on November 2, 2026. Criteria come first, then four plans, in alphabetical order, not ranked; SafetyWing is the one we link to. We are not insurance brokers or agents, we did not buy or claim on these plans, and nothing here is personal advice.
Key takeaways
- Travel medical insurance covers emergency treatment, hospitalization and medical evacuation abroad; it does not refund prepaid bookings canceled before departure.
- UK government advice and the CDC both tell travelers to expect to pay for treatment abroad first, so a plan that reimburses you still requires funds on hand.
- The CDC puts medical evacuation costs at about $25,000 to more than $250,000 and suggests considering evacuation insurance for Morocco.
- Pre-existing conditions, quad biking, altitude limits and alcohol are the exclusions most likely to matter on a Morocco trip.
- Across four travel medical plans sold to US residents, read in October and November 2026, evacuation limits ran from $100,000 to $500,000; SafetyWing's Nomad Insurance Essential has the lowest of the four, no deductible and the only published price.
What travel medical insurance covers, and what it doesn't
A "comprehensive" travel policy bundles trip cancellation, interruption, baggage and medical cover. A travel medical plan keeps the medical core and drops or trims the rest. The CDC Yellow Book makes the distinction from the other side: a policy built around trip cancellation might not cover medical costs abroad or evacuation at all.
| Usually in a travel medical plan | Usually not, or only in small amounts |
|---|---|
| Emergency doctor and clinic visits for a new illness or injury | Trip cancellation before you leave |
| Hospital stays, surgery, prescribed medicine | Routine care: checkups, vaccines, prescriptions you already take |
| Medical evacuation to a better-equipped hospital | Pre-existing conditions, beyond narrow emergency exceptions |
| Emergency dental pain relief | Pregnancy and childbirth |
| A ticket home if a close relative dies (some plans) | Search and rescue in the mountains or desert |
If most of your Morocco trip is prepaid and nonrefundable, a medical plan alone leaves that money exposed.
Why medical cover matters on a Morocco trip
Morocco travel health insurance starts from the local system: UK government advice describes public health facilities in Morocco as limited and private clinics as better; the CDC adds that trauma care centers are uncommon outside urban areas and that emergency care may not meet US standards after a serious injury (page reviewed August 2026).

Payment is the practical issue: expect to pay the clinic first. A medical plan does not change that step; it decides whether you get the money back.
- Ambulance
- 150 (gov.uk, read Oct 2026)
- Where to get treated
- Private clinics in the large cities (gov.uk, Oct 2026)
- Pharmacies
- One open 24 hours in every city and district (gov.uk, Oct 2026)
- Paying
- Expect to pay the clinic, then claim (CDC Yellow Book; gov.uk: keep accessible funds)
- Last checked
- 2026-10-30
What to look for in a medical policy
Our method for any plan: general criteria, read in the policy wording, not on the sales page.
| Criterion | Why it matters in Morocco | What to check in the wording |
|---|---|---|
| Overall medical limit | A hospital stay and surgery add up fast | The maximum per illness or per period |
| Evacuation limit | Desert camps and Atlas villages are hours from city clinics | A separate limit, lifetime or per trip, and who approves it |
| Deductible | You pay it before the plan pays | Amount, per claim or per period |
| How the plan pays | You may have to pay the clinic first | Reimbursement only, or direct payment for hospital stays |
| Pre-existing conditions | The most common reason for a refused claim | Look-back period, emergency exceptions |
| Activities | Camel treks, surfing, quad rides, Toubkal | The list of covered sports, add-ons, altitude limit |
| Age and family rules | Prices and eligibility change with age | Maximum age, how children are added |
| Start date and late purchase | Many travelers buy close to departure | Waiting periods, rules if bought abroad |
| Claim deadline | Receipts get lost after the trip | Days allowed after care or after the plan ends |
Medical evacuation: the line to read twice
Evacuation is the expensive part of a medical emergency. The CDC Yellow Book puts air ambulance costs at about $25,000 for transport within North America to more than $250,000 from remote places, and notes that the insurer, not the traveler, decides when an evacuation happens.

Read three things: the limit, per trip or lifetime; where you are taken, often the nearest adequate hospital rather than home; and pre-approval, since many plans pay only for an evacuation their assistance team arranges.
Let the insurer arrange any transfer. SafetyWing's Essential wording, for example, says an evacuation it has not approved and arranged in advance is not reimbursed (SafetyWing Help Center, March 2026).
Exclusions that matter on a Morocco trip
Pre-existing conditions. Most medical plans exclude conditions you saw a doctor about, took medicine for or had symptoms of during a set period before the start date, with at most a narrow emergency exception. If a condition is being treated, read this clause first.

Motorized activities. Quad rides in the Agafay desert or the Merzouga dunes are a common add-on to a trip, and a common exclusion: some plans cover them only with a sports add-on, others not at all.
Altitude. Mount Toubkal, North Africa's highest peak, reaches 4,167 meters. Plans set altitude limits for trekking, and some require official routes: check the limit against your guide's route.
Alcohol and driving. Injuries while intoxicated are a common exclusion, and a scooter or motorbike usually needs the right license and a helmet.
Four plans measured against these criteria
Four travel medical plans sold to US residents, in alphabetical order, not ranked: published options, not quotes (SafetyWing read October 30, the others November 2, 2026).
| Plan | Medical limit | Evacuation | Deductible | Buy once abroad? | Trip cancellation | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allianz OneTrip Emergency Medical | Up to $50,000 | Up to $250,000 | Not stated on the plan page | No, per Allianz | Not included | None, quote only |
| BCBS Global Solutions Single Trip Gold (formerly GeoBlue) | $50,000 to $1,000,000, your choice | Up to $500,000 per trip | $0 to $500, your choice | No: buy at home, before departure | Not listed | None, quote only |
| SafetyWing Nomad Insurance Essential | $250,000 | $100,000 lifetime | None | Yes, extra proof for the first 72 hours | Not included | $62.72 per 4 weeks, ages 10–39 |
| Seven Corners Travel Medical Excluding USA | $1,000,000 to age 64; $100,000 at 65–79 | Up to $500,000 | $0 to $1,000, your choice | Not stated plainly | Not listed | None, quote only |
Essential is not the strongest on every line. The BCBS Global Solutions and Seven Corners plans offer higher medical and evacuation limits, and BCBS Global Solutions' Platinum version, for travelers with a US primary health plan, covers pre-existing conditions. Allianz adds baggage cover up to $2,000. Seven Corners does not sell to New York residents. Essential's distinct lines are a published price and sale once you are abroad.
Nomad Insurance Essential in detail
SafetyWing sells Nomad Insurance Essential as travel medical insurance: medical cover, no cancellation. Here it is line by line, from SafetyWing's pages and help center, read October 30, 2026 (plan version effective February 2026).
| Criterion | Nomad Insurance Essential |
|---|---|
| Overall limit | $250,000, medical treatment and hospitalization included |
| Evacuation | Up to $100,000 lifetime; doctor's certification and insurer pre-approval |
| Deductible | None |
| How it pays | Reimbursement first; guarantee of payment possible for a hospital admission, case by case |
| Pre-existing conditions | Excluded, except a narrow emergency exception, never in the first 28 days or for chronic conditions |
| Activities | Surfing, trekking, camel riding, sandboarding and balloon flights as a passenger listed; quad biking unclear, ask SafetyWing first |
| Altitude | Hiking up to 4,500 m on official paths |
| Trip cancellation | Not covered |
| Age | 14 days to 69 years |
| Children | Up to two under 10 at no extra cost, one per adult |
| Buying abroad | Allowed; incidents in the first 72 hours need proof they followed the purchase |
| Where | Most countries outside your home country, Morocco included; US cover is an add-on for non-US residents |
| Price | $62.72 per 4 weeks, ages 10–39; higher age bands cost more |
Where it fits: one to three weeks, a traveler under 70 without a condition under treatment, few nonrefundable bookings, activities on the list. Where it does not: an expensive prepaid tour to protect, pregnancy, age 70 or older, or a need for an evacuation limit above $100,000.
See what Nomad Insurance Essential covers →
For people living abroad: Nomad Insurance Complete
Nomad Insurance Complete is a different product: a 12-month global health plan with routine care, a $1,500,000 annual medical limit and sign-up up to age 64, listed at $177.50 a month for ages 18–39 (SafetyWing, October 30, 2026). It cannot be bought with the United States as your country of residence (SafetyWing Help Center, September 2026), so for a US resident visiting Morocco, Essential is the SafetyWing plan open to you.
Compare Nomad Insurance Complete for life abroad →
Trip cancellation is a separate decision
Add up what you have prepaid and cannot get back: flights, riad deposits, a multi-day desert tour. If that total is small, or your bookings are refundable, a medical plan covers the risk that is hardest to pay yourself. If it is large, cancellation cover is a second purchase: a comprehensive policy or a separate cancellation product, which a marketplace can list side by side. A small cancellation benefit, such as Complete's $300 per trip, does not replace it.
Before you buy, and before you fly

Travel medical insurance for Morocco
0 / 8 doneFAQ
Does travel medical insurance cover trip cancellation?
Usually not: cancellation before departure needs a comprehensive policy or a separate product. Nomad Insurance Essential does not cover it.
Can I buy travel medical insurance after arriving in Morocco?
Some plans allow it, Essential included, with extra proof for incidents in the first 72 hours after purchase. Allianz and BCBS Global Solutions sell their plans only before departure.
Does travel medical insurance cover a Toubkal trek?
It depends on the altitude limit. Toubkal's summit is 4,167 meters; Essential covers hiking up to 4,500 meters on official paths.
Is medical evacuation included?
In most travel medical plans, yes, with its own limit and insurer pre-approval. Essential's limit is $100,000 over your lifetime.
Disclosure: We are not licensed insurance agents: this article is general information, not insurance, legal or medical advice.
Affiliate disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we write about a plan.


